What are the ashta (8) Siddhis and nava (9) nidhis

Ashta Siddhis and  Nava Nidhis are mentioned in 
Hanuman Chalisa Verse 31..
Ashta siddhi nava nidhi ke dātā,
asa bara dīnha jānakī mātā


Mother Sita granted you a boon to become the bestower
of 8 Siddhis (supernatural powers) and 9 Nidhis 
(divine treasures)

8 Siddhis (Supernatural powers) are:

Aṇimā: Ability to reduce one's size

Mahima: Ability to increase one's size
Garima: Ability to increase one's weight infinitely
Laghima: Ability to become lighter than the lightest
Prāpti: Ability to Obtain anything
Prākāmya: Ability to acquire anything desired
Iṣiṭva: Lordship over creation
Vaśitva: Having control over things

9 Nidhis (treasures) are:

Mahapadma: Great lotus flower
Padma: Lotus/ a Himalayan lake with treasures
Shankha: Conch shell
Makara: Crocodile/ Antimony
Kachchhapa: Tortoise or turtle shell
Mukunda: Cinnabar/ Quick Silver
Kunda: Jasmine/ Arsenic
Nila: Sapphire/ Antimony
Kharva: Cups, vessels baked in fire

No comments:

Post a Comment